Public ServiceView all

ABA appoints UCI Law students to student leadership team

Caroline Shurig (’15), Ricardo Lopez (’16) and Eric Vera (’16) were chosen to serve as student liaisons for American Bar Association committees and commissions during the 2014-2015 academic year. Shurig will work with the Standing Committee on the Delivery of Legal Services, Lopez with the Commission on Racial and Ethnic Diversity in the Profession, and Vera with the Commission on Hispanic Legal Rights & Responsibilites. Read more >

Faculty ScholarshipView all

David Kaye

Prof. Kaye has been appointed by the UN Human Rights Council to serve as Special Rapporteur on the promotion and protection of the right to freedom of opinion and expression, effective August 1, for three years. With the assistance of students in his International Justice Clinic, Prof. Kaye will report to the UN on some of the key issues in free expression worldwide, such as the safety of journalists, severe restrictions placed on Internet access and usage, the chilling effects of electronic surveillance, hate speech and incitement to violence. Read more >

CommunityView all

Incoming student Laura Lively wins Alumni Legacy Scholarship

The Class of 2014 Gift Committee has chosen Laura Lively ('17) to receive its Alumni Legacy Scholarship, a $10,000 award renewable for three years. Lively successfully juggled college studies with a musical career. She got a degree in English Literature from Cal State Fullerton, and a Master of Arts in the Humanities at Duke University. Class Gift Committee leaders Lisa Petak and Pegah Ghaneian said of Lively: “We truly believe she embodies the passion, entrepreneurship, and collegiality that represents our Class of 2014.” Read more >

UC Irvine School of Law is an innovative and visionary law school focused on educating talented and passionate lawyers driven by academic excellence, intellectual rigor and a commitment to enrich our communities through public service. The Law School combines the best of a large and renowned academic institution with a collegial, supportive and friendly environment. The campus is located in Orange County, California, one of the nation’s fastest growing regions, with a Mediterranean climate year-round and 40 miles of breathtaking coastline.